Hello everyone! I haven’t been posting much here lately, mainly because I’ve been in a reading slump for like two weeks now, and haven’t read a single book so far, so I thought why not catch up on the book tags I have yet to do instead. So here I am! I was tagged to do the This is My Genre, Tell Me Yours Book Tag by Lauren from Comma Hangover -you can check her blog out, and also her answers to this tag-, so thank you Lauren for tagging me!!

This is my genre tag

The tag was created by Drew @  TheTattooedBookGeek.

Question 1: What is your favorite genre?

I don’t think this will come as a surprise to anyone who knows me or follows me on Goodreads or here, but my favorite genre is Fantasy. Any type of fantasy will do to be honest, whether it is High Fantasy, Dark Fantasy, YA Fantasy or Urban Fantasy, I will read it and I will mostly love it. It is my go-to genre since I was a teenager, and it all started with Harry Potter. Ever since, I have read so many amazing book series, some of which have become my all time favorites.

Question 2: Who is your favorite author from that genre? 

Image result for mistborn series

It’s hard to answer a question just like this one, because how can someone even choose ONE single author out of all the ones we’ve read?! And more so, when your favorite genre has so many sub-genres which you equally love. But for the purpose of this tag I will choose someone who I also don’t think will come as a surprise: Brandon Sanderson. My love for that man’s writing will never end. And my love for his books will never cease to amaze me. The way he can create such intricate and elaborate storylines and MAGIC SYSTEMS is beyond me. His incredible and unique world building is also something for which he is known, and because of all this, I can say he is one of my favorite Fantasy authors. The Mistborn series are currently my favorite books out of the ones I’ve read from him so far.

Question 3: What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I guess it’s the endless possibilities when it comes to world building, which is the reason why I rant a lot about it when there’s a lack of it in books. I love the universes and places Fantasy authors create; it’s one of my all time favorite things to read about. But I guess it’s also about the magic systems. It’s never the same in all the books I’ve read so far. Each author, in each book, is able to come up with so many different varieties and systems of magic, that you are just amazed at their creativity.

Question 4: What is the book that started your love for the genre?

It was Harry Potter. I was lucky enough to have grown with the Harry Potter books ever since they first came out. I remember my mom had gone out to do some grocery shopping, and when she came back she gave me the first book, which at that time, it wasn’t famous at all. She said something along the lines of ‘look what I found, it looks interesting, doesn’t it?’, and  right then, I had no fucking idea what those books would mean to me once I started reading them. I still remember every year how we had to wait for a next book to come out, and especially here, where we had to wait for the Spanish translations to come out, which was torture. So, yeah, my love for Fantasy started with Harry Potter, even if now I’m more interested in reading High Fantasy book series.

Question 5: If you had to recommend at least one book from your favorite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

12031366Image result for the name of the windImage result for six of crows

I guess for this I’m going to have to pick one book from each sub-genre, because they are all very different. If you are into Dark Fantasy, maybe try a book from Mark Lawrence like Prince of Thorns or a book from Joe Abercrombie, which I haven’t done yet, but I’ve heard amazing things from his books. If you are looking for something to get you started on High Fantasy you could choose The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson or The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. And if you are looking for a YA Fantasy book, I’d recommend The Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo.

Question 6: Why do you read? 

I mean, have yall seen the news lately? The world is more and more fucked up, and I think reading is a way of escaping all of this. It’s just something I’ve always found comfort in doing, ever since I was young. The possibility of reading about someone else’s experiences in other worlds, even if it’s just for a little while, is amazing.

So, I’m not gonna tag anyone, because I don’t wanna impose anything on anyone, but if you read this and you like this tag, please feel free to do it and link me your post so I can read your answers. I’d love to see what genres you love reading and which books are your favorites! Until next time!

