April Wrap up

Hello everyone! In this post I will be summing up what I have read this past month of April, which hasn’t been that great in terms of the amount of books I was able to read. I don’t know why but April wasn’t a very good month for me, I had a reading slump towards the middle of the month, and I just wasn’t that motivated towards reading much. I also wasn’t able to write this yesterday, but anyways, here it is! Let’s jump right into this wrap up 😊

1984-by-george-orwell1984 | George Orwell  ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I feel like I’ve read this book years ago, instead of just this month, but this book was really not what I expected, and not necessarily in a bad way. 1984 was the second George Orwell book I’ve read so far, and I have to say that he is becoming one of my favorite authors when it come to satires. I feel like his books have always been relevant and true when it comes to politics. This book deals with an extreme form of totalitarianism, and if you think about it, how far are we from becoming what The Party in 1984 represents? A must read for anyone who is into dystopians, only that in this case, it is taken to an extreme.

2813153

Thirteen Reasons Why | Jay AsherΒ 

This one was a hard one for me to review, and that’s why I have decided not to rate it. While I had MAJOR issues with a lot of actions that happened in this book, and how the main character dealt with those issues, I can’t judge whether it’s right or not to react or deal with something in a certain way like she did. It is easy for us to say that we would have done something different, yet everyone has different ways of coping with life and with anything that happens in life as well. I do have to say that I LOVED the TV show, whilst I didn’t quite much enjoy the book.

exitExit West | Mohsin Hamid ⭐⭐⭐⭐

This was an amazing and heartbreaking book. I would definitely recommend this to literally anyone, so that they could experience at least through words the hell that refugees have to live every single day and the prejudice and hardships they have to endure. While not much action occursΒ in Exit West, what we have is a realistic portrayal of what it is like living in a country in the middle of a civil war, and the consequences leaving your homeland has. Plus, Hamid incorporates in Exit West a twist on the novel that makes this fall under the category of magical realism. You can check down below my full review if you are interested in knowing more.

⭐⭐⭐ Everything I Never Told You | Celeste Ngeve

I seem to be in the minority in regards to this book, because everyone seems to love it, while I just thought it was an okayish book. It does have an element of mystery as to what happened to Lydia, but honestly, the story did not grab my attention at all. The characters were horrible to each other, and the decisions they made were awful. By the end of it I couldn’t care less about what had actually happened to Lydia and was just wishing for this book to end. It does deal with issues like racism and discrimination which were interesting to read about, but other than that, I was hugely let down by this.

32623542Beyond The Bright Sea | Lauren Wolk ⭐⭐⭐

This middle grade novel was well-paced, filled with mystery at every turn of the page, yet for me, I think it was the characters that stood out, more than the whole mysterious treasure island plotline. This story is mainly Crow’s story, her journey to figure out her own identity, where she came from, who were her parents, and who she is. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a fast read, with well rounded characters, and a touch of adventure. This one comes out tomorrow, so go grab it if you think this may be the book for you! You can also check out my full review if you are interested.

13376363⭐⭐⭐ Teaching My Mother How To Give Birth | Warsan Shire

This is a bind-up of no more than 40 pages of poems that deal with a huge number of issues. It tackles discrimination, racism, sexual abuse, and more. It is bold, straight up to your face kind of bold, and Warsan does not shy away from anything. It is her story, the story of her mother, of her country, told in a lyrical and beautiful way. If you are into poetry that deals with important social issues, then this is definitely for you. It wasn’t the most favorite poetry book I’ve read, but it was touching and eye-opening in many ways.

That’s it guys! Those are the few things I got around to reading this month, not many like I’ve said, but I’m hoping that May will be a better reading month for me. What did you guys read on April? Tell me on the comments below, and have a nice day!logo

5 thoughts on “April Wrap up

  1. BrizzleLass says:

    1984 is one of my all time favourite novels. And how it continues to be relevant in the modern world just astounds me. Orwell was an insightful man! I highly recommend Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury aswell!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Celeste says:

      Exactly! It was so creepy to be reading that book, and thinking that so many things that he wrote are similar to what’s going on in different parts of the world, for example in my country, there were so many similarities with the way the government tried to establish control as to what the “real news” were, and those that were considered “fake”, of course not taken to the extreme that Orwell did, but you could see those similarities everywhere. Yessss, Farenheit 451 is another one I’ve been meaning to read for a while as well, so I definitely will be getting my hands on that soon! Thank you for the recommendation πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. readwithkatie says:

    Some great books! I’m interested in Exit West, I also love the cover! I’m also planning on reading Thirteen Reasons Why this month, I’ve owned it for years. But I’ve heard from a lot of people that is is problematic

    Liked by 1 person

    • Celeste says:

      Yesss, I hope you get the chance to read Exit West, I really enjoyed it especially for Hamid’s writing. I still don’t know how to feel about the 13 Reasons Why book, but I loved the TV show. I think that the characters were so much more developed there than in the book. So yeah, I think that whether it is problematic or not depends on each person, some may think that it sends a good message, while some may think the opposite. I hope you read it, and see what you think of it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

