The Candy Book Tag

Hello fellow bloggers! I hope everyone had an amazing and relaxing weekend. I was tagged, as the title says, in the Candy Book Tag by Sarah from @btweenthepages -a blogger you should definitely check out by the way- and I thought it was a nice and fun tag for me to do, so here I go!

🍎🍎🍎 APPLES 🍎🍎🍎

Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

For this, I have to pick Brown Girl Dreaming, no matter how much it pains me to say this. I had heard about his book a lot, so I finally decided to pick it up at the beginning of the year, and it was definitely not what I expected. Don’t get me wrong, it deals with a lot of important issues like discrimination and racism, and I think it is extremely relevant and should be respected for that, yet it just wasn’t my kind of book. It is written in prose, and I think this might have influenced on me not liking the book that much. It was an okayish book, just not my cup of tea.


BLACK JELLY BEANS

Why do these exist?

Oh god, I know I’m going to get a lot of hate for my pick but I just can’t help it, for this, I definitely need to choose Stephanie Perkins companion series of Anna and The French Kiss. God, I hated these books -and I have yet to read the final book, because I already own it-, I just wanted to throw them against the wall, because of how unrealistic and stupid they were. I could probably rant about Anna and Lola’s books for days, but let’s just say that these two first books were some of the worst YA contemporaries I have read in my life. The writing was plain average if not completely basic, and the awful characters had me rolling my eyes so freaking much, ugh, I’m getting angry even remembering about those books right now.


🍫🍫🍫 CHOCOLATE KISSES 🍫🍫🍫

Aww…this novel had the best romance.

For this one I have so many that it’s hard for me to choose just one. But I think I’m going to go for Ari and Dante from Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets Of the Universe. I still think about how cute and fluffy that whole book was, and it makes me wanna re-read it once again. I think Benjamin Alire Sáenz did an amazing job at creating those two characters and their relationship, and how it evolves from just friendship to something more than just that. And apparently, it is going to become a movie, so I can’t wait to see that!


GUMMY SPIDERS

Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

I don’t know if there is a version of this book in English, because it’s a French novel and I read the Spanish translation of it, but the title of the book would roughly translate as The Orphans Of Evil by Nicolas d’Estienne d’Orves. I read this years ago while I was young, and I remember it giving me the chills every freaking time I picked it up. It’s about these mysterious deaths happening in places where there used to be concentration camps, and a journalist trying to look into what is going on with those murders. It mainly focuses on the Lebensborn, an actual SS program to create the “pure race”, and on those kids that were born from that program, and how that connects with what is happening during the journalist’s investigation. That was a horrible summary but yeah, it was creepy AF and I still think about it now and then, even though the ending was awful.


🍭🍭🍭 JUMBO LOLLYPOP 🍭🍭🍭

This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

This one has to be Dracula by Bram Stoker. Man, that book was so freaking long, I thought I was never gonna be able to finish it, and I think that the epistolary format didn’t help AT ALL either. It is one of those classics that anyone should read, because you know, vampires, but I don’t think it is an easy read at all.


COTTON CANDY

Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). 

I remember loving this series when I was a kid, and even though I don’t remember anything from those books now, I know I loved them. For this I have to pick the Friendship Ring series by Rachel Vail. I remember I was obsessed with this series, and I also remember there was another book series by a different author that was very similar to this, which I also loved. Basically, these books dealt with a group of friends and their daily problems with boys, friendships, having your first crushes, school, falling in love, parents, and more. It was definitely my favorite book series back then, before Harry Potter took over my life, of course.

Well, there it is guys, the Candy Book Tag! I don’t think I’m gonna tag anyone, but if you want to do it, then go ahead and do it. It was really fun to think of books I haven’t thought of in a long while. Until next time!

logo

2 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag

    • Celeste says:

      Thank you 🙂 🙂 !!! Yesss, do it, it was so much fun trying to decide on which books to choose since there were so many choices, especially for the last one! Can’t wait to see which books you choose 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

