TOP 5 WEDNESDAY

t5w

Hi everyone! Today’s topic for Top 5 Wednesday is Top SFF Books on Your TBR. Since Fantasy is my favorite genre it was almost impossible for me to choose which ones are at the top of my TBR, especially since so many new books keep coming out and I keep adding them to my never-ending pile of books to read. But, nonetheless, I was able to pick a few that I’ve been meaning to get to for a while, so I decided to share them with you. Let’s start with my picks for fantasy TBR:

♥ The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson: Of course my fantasy TBR list would have at least ONE Sanderson book, and let’s just say that this one is a mammoth of a book. Partly the reason why I have yet to pick this one up is its length, and partly is the fact that not only is this book over 1,000 pages long, but it’s also the first of a TEN BOOK SERIES. Yep, you read that right, 10 books! How can I start this when there are only 2 books out there so far? How will I cope with wanting to know how the series continues once I’m done with those two? Like I said, more than a reason for it to have been on my TBR list for a while now.

♥ The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch: I have heard so many good things about this series that I still don’t know what is taking me so damn long to pick up the book and start reading it. It’s got all I like in a fantasy book: morally gray characters, bromances, a band of thieves, intrigue… I mean seriously, there is no excuse for me not to be reading this one.

20170405_144713.jpg

♥ Daughter of The Forest by Juliet Marillier: I have to admit that this one I did start reading at one point in my past but decided to put it down since I wasn’t feeling it, but since then, my reading tastes have changed drastically and I don’t think that would be my opinion on this book anymore. Basically, The Daughter of The Forest has influences of celtic culture, magic, druids, a horrible step-mother and a female protagonist that is a badass. Need I say more?

♥ Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb: This one is a tricky one, because in order for me to read this I need to read three more books before this second trilogy. I know, confusing but also intimidating. Robin Hobb is a genius when it comes to her fantasy books, and I’ve only read the first book in the first trilogy, so it’s probably gonna be a while before I get my hands on Ship of Magic.

As for science fiction, I have to say I don’t have many books on my TBR, since I’m not that much of a sci-fi reader, yet I do have one book that I’ve been meaning to read for a while now:

♥ A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers: This one is the continuation of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet which is mainly a character-driven book that is based on space, and it follows a ship crew whose job is to punch holes in the middle of space so that spaceships can use them to hop from planet to planet. It’s got different types of aliens, humans, androids, and it tackles so many relevant issues such as sexual orientation, gender, politics, and more. The first book was definitely one of my favorite reads of last year, and I can’t wait to see how the duology finishes!

 

Leave a Reply

