2017 READING GOALS

Hello everyone! What I wanted to talk about today was what I decided to set as my goals as regards my reading for this year of 2017. Since last year I wasn’t able to reach my initial Goodreads Challenge goal, which was 100 books and let’s be real, there was no way of reaching that, this year I thought it would be wiser to set a more reachable number when it comes to the total amount of books I want to read during this year, and so I decided that 50 books would be a more or less logical amount, and boy, am I relieved I did that. Not only I’m far ahead on that challenge, but it also has taken away the pressure of constantly being reminded I was falling behind and that I needed to read like 20 books to catch up. Now, I feel like I’m more eager to pick up several books and read them at a slower rate than before, and so I decided, why not join some of the other most known challenges out there to make things more interesting? I don’t know if I will be able to complete them, but at least it has kept me motivated towards choosing more diverse reads in terms of not only representation, but also genres.

The first challenge I immediately signed up for was the Diversity Bingo 2017. As you can see in the picture, it is literally a bingo with different categories one has to fill, which provides for an entertaining way of choosing what your next books will be, while at the same time promotes diverse reads and also own voices authors or books that most of the times are not well-known or not talked about too much.

C0h0HcoXcAAQAfO

So far, these are the categories that I’ve completed:

• Practicing jewish MC: Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer.

• SFF disabled MC: Monstress Vol.1: Awakening by Marjorie Liu.

• Bisexual MC: The Summer Palace by C.S. Pacat (though I don’t have information as to whether it’s own voices or not).

• MC of color in SFF: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor.

• Own voices latinx MC: The House On Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros.

• Own voices: Bone by Yrsa Daley-Ward.

• Book by author of color: Salt. by Nayyirah Waheed.

• Black MC own voices: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson.

• LGBTQ+ MC of color: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz.

• Immigrant/refugee MC: The Refugees by Viet Thanh Nguyen.

And the second challenge I’m participating in is a Goodreads Challenge, and it’s called the Around the Year in 52 Books, where the goal is to read, as the title says, 52 books in the entire year completing 52 different categories for each book.

52

So far, these are the ones I’ve done:

1. A book from the Goodreads Choice Awards 2016: The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel.

3. A book you meant to read in 2016: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz.

4. A title that doesn’t contain the letter “E”: Salt. by Nayyirah Waheed.

5. A historical fiction: The Boy in The Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne.

10. A dual-timeline novel: Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer.

11. A category from another challenge: The Refugees by Viet Thanh Nguyen.

16. A mystery: Post Mórtem by Patricia Cornwell.

22. A book by an author you haven’t read before: We Are Okay by Nina Lacour.

37. A book you choose randomly: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch.

I will be posting my progress here in both of these challenges throughout the year, and if you use Goodreads, you can also follow me there to see updates of how I’m doing on those two challenges. Until next time!logo

2 thoughts on “2017 READING GOALS

Leave a Reply

